Who we are

Polling day: 25 May 2018

The Referendum Commission is an independent body set up under the Referendum Act 1998. Our job is to communicate factual information about referendums. We are neutral and impartial. Our role is to:

  • Explain to the public what the referendum proposal means
  • Make sure people know a referendum is being held
  • Encourage people to vote

The Commission members are:

  • Ms Justice Isobel Kennedy (Chairperson)
  • Mr Seamus McCarthy (the Comptroller and Auditor General)
  • Mr Peter Tyndall (the Ombudsman)
  • Mr Peter Finnegan (the Clerk of Dáil Éireann)
  • Mr Martin Groves (the Clerk of Seanad Éireann)

Check the Register

Registration to vote is closed. If you are not sure whether you are registered to vote in the referendum, or whether or not you are registered at the correct address, you can find out very simply by checking the electoral register.